ICIC Tutorials in Astrostatistics and R

ICIC Tutorials in Astrostatistics and R

Leverhulme Lectures

Sponsored by ICIC and Leverhulme


Eric D. Feigelson

Penn State University

28-29 November 2016

RAS Burlington House, Piccadilly


Registration was by 11 November and is now closed


Imperial Centre for Inference and Cosmology is sponsoring two days of lectures and hands-on training on statistical methodology for astronomy.  The event is open to graduate students and researchers in astronomy without charge, but it is necessary to register for the event.  Coffee and lunch limited to the first 40 participants will be provided free of charge - we have now reached this limit so you can still register but it will be without this.   


To register, please email Louise Hayward (L.Hayward@ null imperial.ac.uk) with your name, institution, status (PhD student, postdoc, academic staff), and field of research.


Monday 28 November

10:00 -10:30 Why astrostatistics?

10:30 -11:30 Introduction to R*


11:45 - 1:00 Density estimation or data smoothing*


 2:00 - 3:30  Principles of statistical inference


 3:45 - 5:00  Regression*


Tuesday 29 November

10:00 - 11:30 Clustering and classification*


11:45 - 12:15 Spatial point processes*

12:15 -  1:00  High performance computing*


 2:00 - 3:30 Time series analysis*

 3:30 - 4:00 Resources for astrostatistics


 4:15 - 5:00 Towards improved statistical practice in astronomical research


* Combination lecture and hands-on R tutorial



R, and its 9000+ add-on CRAN packages, is the most comprehensive statistical software environment available.  Participants should bring a laptop with R installed (www.r-project.org).  Tutorial scripts with astronomical datasets will be provided for downloading.


Eric Feigelson is Professor of Astronomy & Astrophysics and of Statistics at Pennsylvania State University.  He is lead author of the 2012 text Modern Statistical Methods for Astronomy with R Applications, co-organizer of summer schools and research conferences on astrostatistics, President of the IAU Commission on Astroinformatics and Astrostatistics, and Statistical Scientific Editor for the AAS Journals.  He is resident at ICIC during autumn term and can be reached at   edf@ null astro.psu.edu .

Members of the ICIC:




Prof Alan Heavens (Director)

Prof Andrew Jaffe

Dr Daniel Mortlock

Dr Jonathan Pritchard

Dr Pat Scott

Dr Roberto Trotta


Prof David van Dyk



Dr Emma Chapman

Dr Suman Majumdar

Dr Malak Olamaie

Dr Florent Leclercq (from October 2017)



Dan Jones

Claude Schmidt

Hikmatali Shariff 



Dr Elena Sellentin (University of Geneva) periodically 2017-2020

Dr Boris Leistedt (NYU) periodically 2017-2020

Prof Eric Feigelson (Sept-Dec 2016)

Prof Nick Kaiser (Sept-Oct 2016)

Prof Jan Conrad (Stockholm) periodically 2013-2015

Prof Raul Jimenez (Barcelona) frequently 2014-2017

Prof Licia Verde (Barcelona) frequently 2014-2017

Dr Catherine Watkinson (UCL) periodically 2016-2019

Dr Justin Alsing (Flatiron Institute, New York) periodically 2017-2020